Tackling Anxiety + Making Some Money |Simplify Series

Hi my lovely blog friends. πŸ™‚

If you follow me on Instagram you have probably noticed that I am selling a TON of clothes and accessories on @shopwithstripescloset. I normally tend to clean my closet out a couple of times a year, and then I normally just allow my friends to pick through what they want to take and donate the rest. While I still think that is a good thing to do, obviously, this time I decided to take a different approach and try to sell my things. I would say I am pretty good at laundry and just keeping clothes in generally good condition, so I thought they were worth re-selling!

I spent one day emptying my closet and drawers of all the things I hardly wear, have worn too much, or the dreaded NEVER worn. After that I snapped some pictures of all the items, posted them on Instagarm, and my little #shopmycloset project was rolling! It blew my mind, for a couple reasons, one being that I could actually make a decent amount of $$$ selling my things for cheap prices, two that I could feel my anxiety lifting away with each item leaving my house. Now if you know me well you know that I am a very anxious person, it’s been a part of who I am for as long as I can remember. I don’t have full blown anxiety attacks on the regular, but I am no stranger to them. I do feel like I am in a much better place in my life when it comes to anxiety, but there is always room to grow. The joy I felt being able to sell my things to people who would love them for an affordableΒ cost, while clearing all this space in my closet and mind was amazing.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

With the success of the sale, that’s still going on shop here, and the anxiety free feelings it is leaving me with, I am inspired to start a new mini-series here on the blog! Welcome to the Simplify Series, I am going to continue to purge and minimize my wardrobe and other areas of my life and I want to bring you along with me! This will also be like a journal to myself as I go through this journey, but I of course want to share with you, and learn from you as well!

I don’t think I am going to go right into a capsule wardrobe, but I am definitely minimizing my closet by more then half. I thought it would be fun to share each section as I minimize and also look for the pieces I feel are lacking from my wardrobe. The first post is going to be on jackets, so keep your eyes peeled for that one.

Have any of you tried a capsule wardrobe? Or just living with less in general? I’d love to hear what has and hasn’t worked for you.Β I’m feeling so inspired over here!!!

Leave a Reply

