Thoughts On Turning 23

It’s my birthday today, another year older. I have officially passed my “Taylor Swift birthday”. To be honest I don’t love my birthday, I always feel this pressure to do something crazy fun and then feel disappointed if it doesn’t seem as fun as I pictured it in my head. It’s silly all these expectations you can put to just one day! Because of this I don’t really like to plan anything major for my birthdays anymore, just like to keep it casual, it’s more who I am anyway! Or who I am now. We were looking at old photo’s today and it is crazy how different of a person you can change into over time. When I turned 18 the only thing I really cared about was that I was legal age to go to a bar…now I am married and have little Greyson laying next to me in his bassinet as I write this! Oh how things change!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetIt’s funny though how everything you do goes into becoming who you are. Even though I feel so different from that 18 year old girl standing in line to get into every bar in Edmonton, I don’t regret those times at all. If it weren’t for those times I wouldn’t have some of the friends I do, and I wouldn’t have met the love of my life. Regret is a funny thing, you hear people say it so often but I truly believe we shouldn’t have regrets. (Okay, well there is obviously different situations… I am not talking about really horrible and tragic things that happen) I am talking on a smaller scale, day to day stuff. Or regretting being a different person in your past. I think it’s good to see where you have come from, and where you have grown in certain area’s. As my fav Miley Cyrus has said Β πŸ˜‰ “we should celebrate progress, not perfection!”

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetI want to take that mindset into this next year of my life. Looking back at this last year, there are things that I am happy with and things I am not as much. One thing I really want to improve is my confidence in myself. My whole life I have struggled with my self-esteem. And honestly that is what held me back from starting my blog/youtube channel sooner. I am so afraid of what other people think, or accidentally hurting someones feelings that I often back out of doing things I want to do. Or just trying anything new! I really don’t want to continue that, I want to be who I am, and I want to encourage Greyson to be who he is by example. I also don’t want to regret that I haven’t been that way before, it’s all part of the journey.

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetSo, that’s that. I am 23 now, I am going to continue working on my confidence, working on being the best wife to Adam and best mom to Greyson, and working on my blog/channel! I appreciate so much the support I have received so far, and also to the people in my life who challenge me and push me to be the best version of myself! I love you all. Thank you and Happy Halloween!

her: aritzia sweater | zara jeans | call it spring booties

his: urband outfitters hoodie | zamboree joggers | timberland hightops

babies: carters halloween outfit | mymila toque | converse sneakers

Leave a Reply

