A Birth Story

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

On September 8, 2016 at 4:43 am we welcomed out little bean into this world. Greyson John O’Brien, and we had no idea how deeply in love we were about to fall…

If you’ve been reading my blog for a little while, I am sure you noticed I was getting a little bit (a lot) antsy for this baby to arrive as he was running late! I ended up being induced on September 7, 2016 at 7:00 am, and today I am going to share the story of what all went down after that.

**Side note: I am going to just go ahead and share all the details of our birth story as I truly love reading them on others blogs. If you aren’t interested in reading this kind of post please stop now**

So we’ll start with the day before my induction, Adam and I knew they would be phoning us at some point to let us know what time to come into the hospital the next day. This was the weirdest feeling to me, waiting to have someone call you and say okay come in at this time and have your baby. In a way it was kind of nice because it felt like we could prepare in some sense, but also just so so strange at the same time. We tried to distract ourself all day and have a date day because who can just sit around and wait on that kind of call? So we went to ikea and bought a few new things, had a lunch date, did a few other errands, and then came home and enjoyed a quiet evening just the two of us. Then around 7:30 pm the hospital phoned and asked if we could come in at 6:45 am the next day to start the “induction process” this meaning I would come in and they would give me a dose of cervidil and then send me home for 24 hours. I was honestly crushed when I heard this because in my head going in to get induced meant you don’t leave until you’re leaving with your baby. Now we had to wait a whole day more! I cried for a little while and Adam comforted me, we prayed about it, and I was able to think more positively, really it was just one day more.

September 7 we woke up bright n early, or dark n early to be honest. Around 4:30 am. Since I thought we were just going into to get the cervidil and then leaving I thought I might as well get ready a little bit because maybe we would go out for breakfast or something after the appointment. So, I got ready, made a small breakfast, and we were on route to the Royal Alexander Hospital! When we got there we went up to the induction and assessment area, a.k.a. pregnant women everywhere area! They checked me into a room and I got all dressed in my hospital gown and waited on the doctor. A few nurses came and saw me in the mean time, hooked me and baby up to monitors and explained to me how they would be giving me the cervidil monitoring me for two hours then, if nothing happened, sending me home for 24 hours and I would come back at the same time the next ย morning to start on an IV of oxytocin. However, when we saw the doctor and she checked my cervix I was pleasantly surprised to hear that I was further along and that they would actually just be starting me on oxytocin right away and that I in fact would be at the hospital until our baby was born!

Now let me just say I was a little too optimistic/naive about what would happen after they induced me. I have several women in my life who had been induced into labour and they all were in labour for about a total of 4-8 hours. So in my head I was like oh it’s 7:00 am and they’re starting me we are going to have this baby before dinner! Lol. So wrong.

The nurse got me all hooked up on the drip of oxytocin as well as penicillin (I was GBS positive) and the process had begun! It took quite a while before I started to feel anything, I’d say it was about noon when I started feeling very minor contractions. The pain was super manageable and afterwards Adam told me I was even getting a little bit cocky with how easy I thought this was all going. We chatted, we watched the Apple Keynote (husbands choice obviously), we ate a little bit of lunch and just hung around. I started to get slightly more uncomfortable with the contractions but it was still not so bad, honestly the baby monitors were what were making me the most uncomfortable because I had to stay laying on my back with them and my tailbone was killing me.

Take us to 3:00 pm still nothing to report, except I really had to pee. I asked the nurse if she could take me off the monitors so I could run to the bathroom, which is tricky while dragging your IV and trying to keep yourself covered in your hospital gown! When I got back to my bed we had a new nurse and she was there to put the monitor back on, I could see a distressed look come upon her as she was listening to the babies heart rate, then she called someone else to come in and check. His heart rate dropped. Way down. It went from 140 to 60 all of a sudden. Before I really had time to process what was going on I was having an oxygen mask strapped on my face and being pushed out of the room and into the labour and delivery area. They were talking about me possibly needing an emergency c-section at this point. I was brought into a delivery room where a different doctor came in to examine me, she found his heart rate had spiked back up but decided I would just stay in this room now so they could watch me closer. I was taken off of the oxytocin for a little while, so we essentially had to start all over again once they decided everything was safe to continue.

So at this point I am only 3 cm dilated, back on the oxytocin, and being watched in a delivery room. I was feeling still good, the scare was over, and my pain was still hardly there. They told me I was no longer allowed to eat or drink just in case it happened again and I did have to have surgery, but I insisted Adam still eat dinner so he ordered Panago pizza to the room, classic Adam. ๐Ÿ˜‰

7:00 pm rolls around and still 3 cm. The doctor asked me if I would be okay with them breaking my water to get things going, I was totally down for that! I wanted this baby out! She checked my cervix again, and broke my water with what looks like a giant knitting needle. It didn’t hurt at all, but having the water pour out of me felt disgusting. I had no idea how much fluid came out, it is not like what you see on tv folks. I basically felt like I was peeing the bed and it wouldn’t stop!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
I took this selfie right before the real labour began, was still feeling great! This was in the bathroom attached to the delivery room.

7:30 pm, oh that’s what a contraction feels like. Okay, not so cocky anymore. The contractions came and they did not go away. I was having one about every 45 seconds and I was very overwhelmed by just how painful I was finding them. I found I couldn’t handle them in bed, so I needed to stand. My poor husband with his broken femur tried his best to support me through them but whenever I would grab onto him his wheelchair moved and it just wasn’t working. I ended up dealing with them by standing next to the bed and ย once one came on I would lean over the bed and do my best to breathe through it. About an hour in I was still going every 45 seconds and I was finding it harder and harder to think logically. I went into this unsure if I wanted an epidural or not, but to be honest I had really been leaning towards not. However I didn’t know if I could actually do this anymore. They were too close together and my legs were beginning to get so shaky from standing. I decided to keep trying to continue naturally, but after a second hour I didn’t think it was possible anymore. We asked the nurse to check how dilated I was, we were thinking ย with 2 hours of contractions so close together surely I must have gotten up to 7 or 8 cm. At least. She checked and said I was 4… Adam said the look on my face was pure defeat. She informed me that I would probably only be dilating a half a cm an hour at this rate, and that was it for me. I don’t know if I am just a baby, but there was no way I could keep doing this pain med free. So I asked her to please give me and epidural. I was answered with the news that the ย anesthesiologist was in surgery so I was going to have to wait an hour before they could give it to me. To be honest I don’t really remember that last hour, again I don’t know whats normal labour pains, but to me this was unbearable.

At 10:30 pm he came in and gave me the epidural, and let me tell you how sweet that was! It kicked in about 10-20 minutes later and by 11:00 pm I was asleep. Much needed sleep.

1:00 am I woke up, we had a new nurse again as we kept being there longer then their shifts. She asked me how I was feeling and I told her I really felt like I needed to go to the bathroom…like really badly. She asked if the pressure was constant or just sometimes there, it was constant. She checked my cervix, I was 10 cm and ready to push! I woke Adam up and he came and got ready sitting by my side. at 1:50 am we began pushing. Even with the epidural I was still able to feel a lot of pressure and a little bit of pain with each push, but it was starting out okay.

3:50 am…two hours of pushing still no baby. It was hurting now, my contractions were so close together there really wasn’t much time to take a break in between. At this time the delivery doctor on shift came in to talk with me, she said I needed to keep trying until 4:30 am and if he still wasn’t out she would “help me out”. I didn’t really know what that meant, but just kept pushing. I was absolutely exhausted but so ready to meet him. 4:30 am came around, turns out we needed the help. Help meant forceps. They did not feel good going in, even with the drugs. They basically look like two giant salad tongs/spoons. I pushed she pulled, so hard she was moving me down the bed with her. I kept asking if they were seeing anything and it was no no no, then all of a sudden yes and he was fully out! 4:43 am. 8 pounds 3 ounces. It felt like it went from 0 to baby in less then a second.

I saw him, and my first thought… he’s HUGE. I couldn’t see what was happening but there were a lot of doctors around. I expected them to turn to Adam to see if he wanted to cut the cord, but they didn’t they just grabbed him and took him away. Turns out the cord was around his neck (that’s why his heart rate had dropped) so they quickly got it off and went to examine him. Luckily he was okay, they handed him to me, he was ours. I had so many emotions running through me, it’s hard to remember what I was even thinking then.

After a few moments of us each holding Greyson they did have to take him away again, because of the forceps to make sure he was alright. I was in such a fog, I ended up falling asleep again. When I woke up it was about 7:00 am and they told me they were going to move us to our recovery room and that Greyson would be meeting us down there. At some point Adam had sent a message out to our friends and family of his arrival, but I don’t remember that. The nurses helped me out of bed and into a wheelchair as my legs were still really numb from the epidural. Adam and I were both a little traumatized from what happened, it was way more intense then either of us had ever imagined. I remember telling him that maybe one baby was enough, and we could just get a lot of dogs. He laughed and agreed. I was nervous about seeing Grey again, but also excited.

When we got to the room they brought him to us, for me this is the moment I truly feel like we met for this first time. He was perfect. The love I instantly felt for Greyson in that moment is unexplainable.

A little while later our families arrived, and they were all instantly over the moon in love too. It’s amazing how much joy this little guy has brought all of us.

So, that’s that. I hope this didn’t come across in anyway like I a pity party. Labour was hard, but I know lot’s of other women have had harder experiences then me. This is just what we went through personally! And I am already over the one baby lot’s of dog scenario, so you do forget the pains. ๐Ÿ˜‰ This week has been crazy and full of every emotion possible. But this week God blessed us with Greyson, so with everything said and done it’s the best week.

This post was a lot more personal then I am use to, so thank you for reading if you did.

 

 

One thought on “A Birth Story

  1. Beth O'Brien

    You were and are very brave Kristina! Thank you for sharing your story and for giving us little Grey. He is perfect and such a wonderful gift. He is also very fortunate to have you and Adam as his parents. God is good. โค๏ธ

    Like

Leave a Reply

